Skip to content

Frederik Neyrinck & Asko Schönberg

the composer

Frederik Neyrinck

the symphony

Bruckner No. 1

de ensemble

Asko Schönberg

Fri. September 13, 20:15

Muziekgebouw, Amsterdam

the composer

Frederik Neyrinck

Frederik studied in Brussels, Stuttgart, and Graz, and has collaborated as a composer with various ensembles and orchestras both in his homeland Belgium, the Netherlands and, internationally. He often creates adaptations and transcriptions of existing repertoire. From 2020 to 2024, he has been an artist in residence with I SOLISTI. He has received numerous awards, including the Austrian State Scholarship for Composition (2018) and the Förderpreis der Stadt Wien (2020). In 2017-2018, he was the ‘season composer’ at Concertgebouw Brugge. Frederik is also active in the world of music theatre and opera. He is in residence at LOD Music Theatre in Ghent and has collaborated with Kopergietery Ghent, Makemake Productions Vienna, and Staatstheater Oldenburg.

the new composition

Frederik on his new composition

‘In this new composition for AskoǀSchönberg, I depart from Bruckner’s First Symphony. It won’t be a literal transcription, but rather a new composition that draws its material from the symphony. This means that certain motifs, rhythms, or harmonic sequences will serve as the basis for the development of the new work. I will also play with the recognizability (‘audibility’) of these Bruckner characteristics throughout the piece.’

This aligns perfectly with Frederik’s artistic trajectory. He frequently creates arrangements and transcriptions (for example, for ensemble Revue Blanche) and is deeply fascinated by the various degrees to which existing compositions can be arranged, transcribed, transformed, or used as a starting point for something new. For Bruckner Casco, the latter option is fully embraced.

For the instrumentation, a sextet has been chosen consisting of 2 woodwinds (flute, bassoon), 2 brass instruments (trumpet, trombone), and 2 strings (violin, double bass). These different groups of instruments will be clearly contrasted against each other. This can be achieved by using the duos as separate ‘groups’, but also by employing the concept of the ‘quasi-soloist’. The new work will follow the form of Bruckner’s first symphony, consisting of 4 movements with similar tempo relationships as in Bruckner’s original composition.

the ensemble

Asko Schönberg

Asko Schönberg For Asko Schönberg, performing the latest music is a hallmark in Europe. For years, they played under the direction of Reinbert de Leeuw, and composers such as Kagel, Ligeti, and Kurtag were regular guests. Asko Schönberg premieres works by many contemporary composers. When we first presented our plan to Fedor Teunisse of Asko, he reacted as if stung by a wasp: ‘Bruckner? That’s not for us. That’s romanticism; we start in the second half of the twentieth century.’


Scherzo from Symphony No. 1

Scherzo from Symphony No. 1 A remarkable piece from Symphony No. 1 is the Scherzo. Listen here to Georges Prêtre (live 1992) Wiener Symphoniker, starting from minute 26.50. This Scherzo is a splendid example of the energetic and dance-like character of this symphony. George Prêtre demonstrates his incredible skill as a Bruckner conductor. 

Symfonie No 1; Georges Prêtre (live 1992) Wiener Symphoniker